BUT HE DIDN’T KNOW HE WAS HIJACKING YOUR SHIP: On Conference Creeps

Maria Dahvana Headley captures brilliantly an unfortunate aspect of the landscape that is the SF/F fandom where I also do my work. With enough sunlight, I hope we are able to disinfect this out of our work and fan space.

GLITTERING SCRIVENER

So, all day today there’s been an epic twitter storm regarding sexual harassment in the science fiction and fantasy convention circuit, specifically the means for the official reporting of same. See Elise Matthesen’s post quoted in full at John’s Scalzi’s WHATEVER for the events that led to said storm.

I feel the need to weigh in on the topic, given that I’m a female writer who attends conventions regularly as part of my professional life, and given that I have been harassed all over convention hotels from here to San Diego. Despite the fact that I’ve also experienced a lot of great stuff at cons, smart and fabulous people, there’s certainly been a lot of Other as well.

I’ve actually never made an official report, largely because I’m so used to being harassed that I’d just chalked it up to basic workplace suck. Of course, my position on this –…

View original post 2,003 more words

Leave a Reply

