Why I Think Trump Means We Are Doing Something Right

Fascinating, and optimistic, perspective on our current political season from a fellow Lehigh PhD graduate.

Reflections on Gender and Postcolonial Issues

Wait, what?  Did she just say that?

Yep.

Stick with me to the end, and perhaps you will find some solace alongside me.

I am not going to say he is good for the country, his behavior is acceptable, or his followers are understandable–or even credible.

But I do think his resurgence into the public eye in a political realm is telling, and perhaps even a good sign.

First, who is the “we,” because as I tell my students, pronouns are dangerous.

The antecedent pool for the “we” in my title is large:  teachers that have made their classrooms safe for all students, students that work every day to ensure campuses are inclusive, people that fill their newsfeeds with stories of change, progressives that politic for the good of all, and the list goes on.

Trump signals to me that “we” are making a difference, that our work over the past…

View original post 624 more words

Leave a Reply

